Male riders retiring at the end of the 2021 season

Tony Martin E3 2018

Each year we see riders leave the pro peloton as the progress of time begins to hit hard. For many, it’s the closing part of a long, successful career. For others, it’s a sign that injuries have taken a toll, or the sacrifices made to maintain a certain level are no longer worth it. We’ve lost some big names from the peloton this season, from sprinters to monument winners, and world champions to humble domestiques.

André Greipel is arguably the most successful rider on this list. He took 158 wins in his long career that began at T-Mobile development team Wiesenhof in 2005. Dan Martin won a pair of monuments (Liege-Bastogne-Liege and Il Lombardia) and recently talked about not being prepared to take risks in his riding anymore. That was after a gravel stage of the Giro d’Italia and Dan Martin not wanting to do anything to affect his young family.

Tony Martin finished his career in the best way possible, with a final World Championship win in the Mixed Relay TT in Flanders. That made it 8 road World Champs wins – 4x TT, 3x TTT and 1x Mixed Relay. Fans old enough to see Stephen Roche race will feel old knowing his son Nicolas Roche is retiring. Nicolas retires at the same time as cousin Dan Martin and then will be heading straight into Ireland’s version of Dancing with the Stars.

Full List of 2021 Retiring Riders

NameFinal TeamAge
André GreipelIsrael Start-Up Nation39
Dan MartinIsrael Start-Up Nation35
Tony MartinTeam Jumbo-Visma36
Roman KreuzigerGazprom – RusVelo35
Nicolas RocheTeam DSM37
Fabio AruTeam Qhubeka NextHash31
Marco MarcatoUAE-Team Emirates37
Manuel BellettiEOLO-Kometa36
Jelle VanendertBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB36
Brent BookwalterTeam BikeExchange37
Nathan HaasCofidis32
Eros CapecchiBahrain – Victorious35
Marcel SiebergBahrain – Victorious39
Jonas Van GenechtenB&B Hotels p/b KTM35
Petr VakočAlpecin-Fenix29
Roy JansAlpecin-Fenix31
William BonnetGroupama – FDJ39
Moreno HoflandEF Education – Nippo30
Koen De KortTrek – Segafredo39
Tomasz MarczyńskiLotto Soudal37
Mickaël DelageGroupama – FDJ36
Matteo PelucchiTeam Qhubeka NextHash32
Michal GołaśINEOS Grenadiers37
Fabio SabatiniCofidis36
Sean De BieBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB30
Viacheslav KuznetsovGazprom – RusVelo32
Fumiyuki BeppuEF Education – Nippo38
Pieter VanspeybrouckIntermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux34
Mitchell DockerEF Education – Nippo35
Kiel ReijnenTrek – Segafredo35
Ben GastauerAG2R Citroën Team34
Rob BrittonRally Cycling37
Robert PowerTeam Qhubeka NextHash26
Boris ValléeBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB28
Frederik BackaertB&B Hotels p/b KTM31
Kévin RezaB&B Hotels p/b KTM33
Bert De BackerB&B Hotels p/b KTM37
Enrique SanzEquipo Kern Pharma32
Andreas SchillingerBORA – hansgrohe38
Garikoitz BravoEuskaltel – Euskadi32
Julien DuvalAG2R Citroën Team31
Jérôme CousinTeam TotalEnergies32
Nikita StalnovAstana – Premier Tech30
Daniel HoelgaardUno-X Pro Cycling Team28
Philipp WalslebenAlpecin-Fenix34
Nicola BagioliB&B Hotels p/b KTM26
Scott DaviesBahrain – Victorious26
Ludwig De WinterIntermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux28
Nik GaillardTeam TotalEnergies25
Jon IrisarriCaja Rural – Seguros RGA26
Nik OronteRally Cycling31
Kenny De KeteleSport Vlaanderen – Baloise36
Mikel AlonsoEuskaltel – Euskadi25
Jonas CastriqueBingoal Pauwels Sauces WB24
Jasper De PlusIntermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux24
Brian KamstraTeam Novo Nordisk28
Nik BevilacquaVini Zabù23
Oliver BehringerTeam Novo Nordisk25

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button