Mischa Bredewold takes 2023 Classic Lorient Agglomération with strong sprint

In a riveting finish at Classic Lorient Agglomération, SD Worx’s Mischa Bredewold clinched victory in the Breton hills. The 160-kilometre race, held in Plouay, featured a host of tactical moves, from early breakaways to a dramatic sprint finish. According to Bredewold, the race had its share of hazards, including a crash that temporarily slowed her down. “I felt strong today; the team’s form allowed me to conserve energy,” she stated. FDJ-Suez ramped up the pace 40 kilometres from the finish, shaking up the peloton’s dynamics.

The break of the day was by a trio of riders, Susanne Andersen of Uno-X, Karolina Kumiega of Team UAE ADQ and Franziska Brausse of Ceratizit WNT. The break spent over 100km clear at the front of the race before eventually being caught with 10km to go. Andersen was the last remaining rider by that point after Brausse and then Kumiega dropped back on the hills.

Liane Lippert of Movistar made a bold move nine kilometres from the finish, momentarily pulling away. Her lead stretched to 20 seconds, but the peloton caught up four kilometres from the finish. As they approached the last stretch, several riders attempted breakaways, only to be reined in. “The sprint was chaotic, which suits me well,” Bredewold revealed. “I had to launch earlier than planned, but I’m thrilled with the win.” She would reach the line ahead of Marta Lach and Sofia Bertizzolo. Despite the victory, Bredewold acknowledged the French racecourse’s dangers. “The race had many obstacles and tight corners; it got a bit sketchy at times,” she said.

With this win, Bredewold brought SD Worx’s 2023 victory count to an impressive 56, especially notable as key team members were absent. “I’m very happy with the win; it was dangerous at times, but ultimately worth it,” she concluded. As the cycling season continues, the focus shifts to SD Worx and Mischa Bredewold, raising questions about how they will fare in upcoming races.

2023 Classic Lorient Agglomération Ceratizit Trophée result

Results powered by FirstCycling.com

Main photo credit: Cor Vos