Skip to content

UCI Worldtour Transfers 2017 Round-Up

Peter Sagan Bora World Champion

Transfers round-up for the 2017 cycling season

As with every season, there has been a large amount of transfers and changes over the off-season. New teams have been created, old familiar teams and team names have been consigned to history. The highest profile transfers have seen the rainbow jersey of the world champion Peter Sagan change teams, as well as GC heavyweights Vincenzo Nibali and Alberto Contador. Strong sprinters, classics specialists and GC helpers have also found new homes elsewhere.

Long-term great Fabian Cancellara retired over the winter, along with fellow World Champion Michael Rogers and Giro d’Italia winner Ryder Hesjedal. There was also the sad retirement of Gianni Meersman, who after winning stages at the Vuelta Espana in September last year has been diagnosed with heart issues. The man who achieved notoriety for being knocked off his bike into a barbed wire fence during the Tour de France, Johnny Hoogerland also hung up his wheels (always feels a bit of a forced phrase…).

With the introduction of Bahrain Merida the peloton gains a splash of red, Abu Dhabi disappointingly went for a mostly black affair, just to make things more difficult from the overhead helicopter shots on TV. The peloton also loses the distinctive yellow of Tinkoff, with Oleg Tinkov throwing in the towel of his second attempt at a cycling team after a falling out with the powers that be.

With things shaken up considerably, we’re set for an interesting 2017 season.

New Teams:

Bahrain Merida 2017 Jersey

Bahrain – Merida

Folding Teams:

Tinkoff 2016 Jersey

Tinkoff Cycling

IAM Cycling 2016 Jersey

IAM Cycling

New Names for Existing Teams:

Bora Hansgrohe 2017 Jersey

Bora – Hansgrohe (previously Bora – Argon)

UAE Abu Dhabi 2017 Jersey

UAE Abu Dhabi (previously Lampre – Merida)

Orica Scott 2017 Jersey

Orica – Scott (previously Orica – BikeExchange)

Katusha Alpecin 2017 Jersey

Team Katusha – Alpecin (previously Team Katusha)

Quickstep Floors 2017 Jersey

Quick-Step Floors (previously Etixx – Quickstep)

Team Sunweb 2017 Jersey

Team Sunweb (previously Giant – Alpecin)

High Profile Rider Transfers:

Rider NameTeam FromTeam To
Peter SaganTinkoffBora - Hansgrohe
Nicholas RocheTeam SkyBMC
Roman KreuzigerTinkoffOrica - Scott
John DegenkolbGiant - AlpecinTrek - Segafredo
Michael MatthewsOrica - BikeExchangeGiant - Alpecin
Vincenzo NibaliAstanaBahrain - Merida
Tony MartinEtixx - QuickstepTeam Katusha - Alpecin
Philippe GilbertBMCQuick-Step Floors
Sep VanmarckeLottoNL - JumboCannondale - Drapac
Alberto ContadorTinkoffTrek - Segafredo
Rafael MajkaTinkoffBora - Hansgrohe

Other Notable Rider Transfers:

Rider NameTeam FromTeam To
Owain DoullTeam WigginsTeam Sky
Tao Geoghegan HartAxeon Hagens BermanTeam Sky
Hugh CarthyCaja RuralCannondale - Drapac
Alexandre GeniezFDJAG2R La Mondiale
Michael ValgrenTinkoffAstana
Matti BreschelTinkoffAstana
Lars BoomAstanaLottoNL - Jumbo
Fran VentosoMovistarBMC
Taylor PhinneyBMCCannondale - Drapac
Darwin AtapumaBMCUAE Abu Dhabi
Ramunas NavardauskasCannondale - DrapacUAE Abu Dhabi
Jack BauerCannondale - DrapacQuickstep-Floors
Ben SwiftTeam SkyUAE Abu Dhabi
Moreno HoflandLottoNL - JumboLotto - Soudal
Daniele BennatiTinkoffMovistar
Ion IzagirreMovistarBahrain Merida
Wilco KeldermannLottoNL - JumboTeam Sunweb
Robert KiserlovskiTinkoffTeam Katusha - Alpecin
Reto HollensteinIAM CyclingTeam Katusha - Alpecin
Kenny ElissondeFDJTeam Sky
Leopold KonigTeam SkyBora - Hansgrohe
Mattias BrandleIAM CyclingTrek - Segafredo
Sonny ColbrelliBardianiBahrain Merida
Enrico GasparottoWanty - Group GobertBahrain Merida
Heinrich HausslerIAM CyclingBahrain Merida
Juraj SaganTinkoffBora - Hansgrohe

Noted Retirees:

NameTeamBiggest WinLast Win
Fabian CancellaraTrek - Segafredo4x World TT Champion2016 TT Olympic Gold
Michael RogersTinkoff Saxo3x World TT Champion2014 Tour de France Stage 16
Ryder HesjedalTrek - Segafredo2012 Giro D'Italia Overall2014 Vuelta a Espana Stage 14
Frank SchleckTrek - Segafredo2006 Amstel Gold2015 Vuelta a Espana Stage 16
Jean-Christophe PeraudAG2R La Mondiale2x Criterium International Overall2015 Criterium International Stage 3
Gianni MeersmanEtixx - Quickstep2014 Tour de Wallonie2016 Vuelta a Espana Stage 5
Marten TjallingiiTeam LottoNL - Jumbo2006 Tour of Belgium2013 World Ports Classic Stage 2
Matt GossONE Pro Cycling2011 Milan - San Remo2013 Tirreno - Adriatico Stage 2
Jack BobridgeTrek - Segafredo2x Australian National Road Race Champion2016 Australian National Road Race
Johnny HoogerlandRoompot - Oranje Peloton2013 Dutch National Road Race Champion2013 Dutch National Road Race
Johan VansummerenAG2R La Mondiale2011 Paris - Roubaix2012 Tour of Qatar Stage 2 (TTT)
Peter VelitsBMC2012 Tour of Oman2015 Vuelta a Espana Stage 1 (TTT)
Patrick GretschAG2R La Mondiale2011 Giro d'Italia (TTT)2012 Vuelta a Andalucia Prologue
Bartosz HuzarskiBora - Hansgrohe2015 Giro del Trentino Stage 1 (TTT)2015 Giro del Trentino Stage 1 (TTT)
Paul VossBora - Hansgrohe2010 Volta Ciclista a Catalunya Prologue2016 Rad am Ring
Phil GaimonCannondale - Drapac2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 12014 Tour de San Luis Stage 1
Cameron MeyerDimension Data2011 Tour Down Under2015 Herald Sun Tour Overall
Sebastien ChavanelFDJ2008 Tour de Picardie2011 Circuit de Lorraine Stage 2
Murilo FischerFDJ2011 Brazilian National Road Race Champion2012 Tour of Qatar Stage 2 (TTT)
Jerome CoppelIAM Cycling2015 French National TT Champion2016 Etoile de Besseges Stage 5
Marcel WyssIAM Cycling2008 Fleche du Sud Overall2008 Fleche du Sud Overall
Gert DockxLotto Soudal2013 La Tropicale Amissa Bongo Stage 72013 La Tropicale Amissa Bongo Stage 7
Ji ChengTeam Giant - Alpecin2008 Tour of South China Sea Stage 12008 Tour of South China Sea Stage 1