ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

Women’s Cycling Profiles: Mieke Docx

Mieke Docx (3)

Date of Birth: 8th June 1996
Nationality: Belgian
Team: Doltcini-Van Eyck
Former Teams: None
Career Achievements:
4th – National Championships Road Race (2019)
9th – Tour of Guangxi (2017)
11th – V4 Restart Zalaegerszeg (2019)
14th – National Championships Road Race (2017)
15th – GC Tour of Guangxi (2019), National Championships TT (2019)
18th – Race Torquay (2020)

Who taught you how to ride a bike & how old were you?

I don’t know how old I was exactly, but I remember it perfectly. My dad put a stick on my little bike, so he could hold me while I was riding it without the safety wheels. Every week, we went to the fire station where my dad worked, and I tried to ride on the landing circle for helicopters with the big H in it.

Every time I could do a lap, we went to the bar after it and I got a bag of crisps from my dad, which at that time had ‘flippo’s’ in it that I collected.

[For UK people, I’ve been informed that flippos are the same as pogs/tazos!]

What was your first ‘proper’ road bike & what colour was it?

For my first proper road bike, I first bought a cyclocross bike, I did a few races on the road with it as well. But my first real race bike was a white Trek. I found it really boring so I put everything I could in yellow, like the handlebar tape, or the holders of my bottles and even the tyres had yellow stripes!

Mieke Docx (1)

What’s the most important piece of kit/advice that has helped boost your performance?

The most important piece must be my boyfriend who’s also a rider. Before I met him, I didn’t know that much about cycling. My family never had anything to do with cycling, so I had to learn everything from friends or my teams. But when I met Stijn De Bock, and we started a relationship, I started to learn a lot, and also started to get even more motivated, I train harder, we do a lot together for our sport and that’s so nice!

What’s your favourite routes/places to ride?

I really love winter training in Calpe. Where I live, there are only flat roads, but in Calpe it’s a paradise for me! I also love to train in the Ardennes in Belgium. As long as there are beautiful climbs and some beautiful views.

Mieke Docx

What tips do you have to keep the love of cycling going amidst all the training?

I only started cycling when I was 16, so it is not difficult to keep me motivated in training. Even now I really love to train and I can easily follow my training schedule without any difficulties. It has become a habit in my life to get on the bike every day.

What experiences are still to do on your cycling ‘bucket list’?

My bucket list is already ticked off a few times, like the beautiful experience in Australia this year. But as a Flemish girl, I sure want to get to start the Tour of Flanders.

Thanks for reading about Mieke Docx – more Women’s Cycling Profiles can be found here