ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

2023 Bretagne Ladies Tour start/finish towns announced

Audrey Cordon Ragot Tour de Bretagne Feminine 2019

The race organisation for the Bretagne Ladies Tour has published the start and finish towns that will host the 2023 edition of the race. The race length will stay the same as the 2022 edition with 5 stages, one of which will be a time trial once again.

Last year saw Vittoria Guazzini win the general classification by 25 seconds over Cédrine Kerbaol, despite neither winning a stage. Marta Bastianelli took the opening 2 stages into Bignan and Inzinzac respectively. Alena Ivanchenko of UAE Team ADQ took her first pro European victory in the time trial stage. Martina Alzini won the following sprint stage to Pontivy and Marta Lach closed things out on the final stage to Vitre. Consistency throughout the 5 days and a 2nd place on the TT, just 5 seconds behind Ivanchenko was enough to secure the GC win for Guazzini.

The 2023 edition won’t revisit any of the start or finish towns from 2022, at least for the beginnings and ends of the stages. Stage 1 is a loop starting and finishing Kerlouan. Stage 2 will go from Plémet to Saint-Méen-le-Grand. Stage 3 is the individual time trial around Plouay. Stage 4 will see the peloton leave Mûr-de-Bretagne and potentially go up the climb that saw Mathieu van der Poel take the yellow jersey on its slopes in 2021. That stage will finish in Kervignac so it probably won’t take a decisive role in the race. The final stage sees the peloton start in Plouharnel and head to Saint-Jean-Brevelay.

Marie Le Net at the 2022 Bretagne Ladies Tour
Photo Credit: Nicolas Creach

You have to go back to the 2014 edition to find one of the 2023 finishes used before. That day Doris Schweizer of Astana BePink took the win ahead of a young Audrey Cordon-Ragot, then of Hitec-Products. A 21-year-old Anouska Koster was 3rd for NWV Groningen – Bike4AIR.

2023 Bretagne Ladies Tour stages

  • – Tuesday May 9: Kerlouan – Kerlouan
  • – Wednesday 10 May: Plémet – Saint-Méen-le-Grand
  • – Thursday 11 May: Plouay – Plouay, individual time trial
  • – Friday 12 May: Mûr-de-Bretagne – Kervignac
  • – Saturday May 13: Plouharnel – Saint-Jean-Brevelay.