ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

A look back at the history of the Hitec Products team

One of the longest-running teams in women’s cycling is Hitec Products. Running at UCI level since 2009, they have kept the same title sponsor throughout, adding additional sponsors where necessary. In 2021, they forged a link with the men’s continental Team Coop team. The Norwegian teams are both based near Stavanger and Sandnes so the link made sense. Coop Norge (for the full title) is a co-operative, running supermarkets and more, not unlike the Co-Op in the UK. Hitec Products makes control systems and process packages for offshore energy and more.

Team Names

YearTeam Name
2009Team Hitec Products – UCK
2010Team Hitec Products – UCK
2011Team Hitec Products – UCK
2012Hitec Products – Mistral Home
2013Hitec Products – UCK
2014Hitec Products
2015Hitec Products
2016Hitec Products
2017Hitec Products
2018Hitec Products – Birk Sport
2019Hitec Products – Birk Sport
2020Hitec Products – Birk Sport
2021Team Coop-Hitec Products
2022Team Coop-Hitec Products
Kirsten Wild

Hitec Products has had a number of absolute stars of women’s cycling on their team over the years, giving plenty their first major steps in the women’s peloton. For a Norwegian team, it’s surprising how many of these riders haven’t been local. Some early examples were Lisa Brennauer and Elisa Longo Borghini and whilst Brennauer didn’t set the world alight on the team, Longo Borghini already looked like the star rider we know she is. Longo Borghini took the team’s first win at the highest level at the 2013 Trofeo Alfredo Binda but the team had already tasted plenty of success. Emma Johansson was a major star of the peloton at the start of the 2010s and she took plenty of wins for Hitec Products, particularly in 2011.

Johansson kicked off a run of quality sprinters on the team. Chloe Hosking joined in 2013 when the Swede left to join Orica-AIS and Kirsten Wild replaced Hosking in 2015 when the Aussie joined Wiggle-Honda. Kirsten Wild’s 2016 season in particular was a strong return for Hitec Products winning at the highest level. Wins at the Tour of California and RideLondon Classique were the first time the team had won more than once at the highest level in a season.

The 2014 line-up may be the best combination of riders in hindsight. With a nucleus of Elisa Longo Borghini, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Audrey Cordon-Ragot and Chloe Hosking, it’s a line-up that would put most WWT teams to shame in 2022. The fact that 3 of the 4 riders are now on the Trek-Segafredo team shows how integral they are to the Women’s WorldTour and the role Hitec Products played in their development.

Elisa Longo Borghini & Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

The major Norwegian talent of Susanne Andersen burst onto the scene in 2016 and was a constant contender for races in her Hitec Products seasons before moving to Sunweb. Andersen, Nina Kessler and Charlotte Becker managed to find wins for the team over the next few seasons. Naturalised Norwegian Vita Heine stepped up in 2019 to take the majority of wins that season.

As a British fan, I was excited to see what Lucy van der Haar could do on the team. The former double junior world champion had struggled with injuries and form in her last 2 seasons at Wiggle and Hitec Product could restart her career. A consistent few days at the Tour of Chongming Island saw her take her career-best WWT/CDM result. Obviously, the pandemic hit in 2020 but Van der Haar was able to sneak in a final victory at the Dubai Women’s Tour.

Mieke Kröger’s strong time trialling and track riding brought new success to the team. The first Olympic gold for a Hitec Products rider in the team pursuit and the team’s first world championships in the mixed team relay and the team pursuit.

On that note, the team has had plenty of national champions over the years. It’s a mark of their involvement in Norwegian cycling that Hitec Products has had 7 Norwegian road race champions since 2010 and 6 Norwegian time trial champions.

Notable Former Riders

NameYears on Hitec-Products
Janneke Ensing2009
Sara Mustonen2009-2012
Lisa Brennauer2010-2011
Emilie Moberg2010-2017
Tiffany Cromwell2011
Emma Johansson2011-2012
Elisa Longo Borghini2012-2014
Emilia Fahlin2013
Rachel Neylan2013
Chloe Hosking2013-2014
Julie Leth2013-2016
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio2014
Vita Heine2014-2020
Audrey Cordon Ragot2014
Charlotte Becker2015-2018
Tatiana Guderzo2015-2016, 2018
Kirsten Wild2015-2016
Susanne Andersen2016-2018
Katrine Aalerud2017
Nina Kessler2017-2018
Lonneke Uneken2019
Lucy van der Haar2019-2020
Mieke Kröger2020-2021
Chloe Hosking

Biggest Victories

RaceRace catYearRider
Omloop het Nieuwsblad1.22011Emma Johansson
Omloop van het Hageland1.22011Emma Johansson
Thüringen Ladies Tour GC2.12011Emma Johansson
Giro d’Italia Donne | 9th stage2.12012Emma Johansson
Trofeo Alfredo BindaWWT2013Elisa Longo Borghini
Omloop van Borsele1.22014Chloe Hosking
Omloop van Borsele1.12015Kirsten Wild
Tour de Yorkshire1.22016Kirsten Wild
Tour of California | 4th stage2.WWT2016Kirsten Wild
RideLondon ClassiqueWWT2016Kirsten Wild
Flanders Diamond Tour1.12017Nina Kessler
Tour of Chongming Island GC + 2nd stage2.WWT2018Charlotte Becker
Dubai Women’s Tour GC + 1st stage2.22020Lucy van der Haar
2013 Trofeo Alfredo Binda was technically CDM rather than WWT, but is included above as WWT for equivalency