Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado takes her first win of the season at Superprestige Ruddervoorde

Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado of Alpecin-Deceuninck clinched her first win of the 2023-24 cyclocross season with a stellar solo performance at the Superprestige round in Ruddervoorde. This marked her third career triumph on this particular Belgian course. Speaking post-race, Alvarado noted the challenges of the initial laps but felt more comfortable as the race progressed. Looking ahead, she aims to carry this momentum into next week’s European Championships.

For much of the race, Alvarado found herself in a head-to-head battle with Dutch compatriot Annemarie Worst of Cyclocross Reds. However, by the fourth of six laps, it was clear that Alvarado had the upper hand, particularly on the steep ramps that were a defining feature of the course. As the race neared its conclusion, Worst gradually lost ground, ultimately allowing Alvarado to triumphantly cross the finish line with a 17-second lead. Marion Norbert Riberolle of Crelan-Corendon claimed third place, finishing 40 seconds behind Alvarado.

The race was missing a couple of heavy hitters, which provided an opening for the young talents in the field. World Champion Fem van Empel of Jumbo-Visma was absent as she prepares for the first European round of the Cyclocross World Cup. Similarly, Puck Pieterse of Fenix-Deceuninck was missing in action, recovering from a demanding mountain biking season that had only recently concluded.

Despite the absence of some of the more seasoned riders, young talents Zoe Backstedt of Canyon-SRAM and Marie Schreiber of SD Worx attempted to make an early impact. Yet, as the laps ticked away, the superior strength and experience of Alvarado and Worst became apparent, rendering the efforts of the younger competitors moot.

The detailed race results revealed Alvarado completed the course in 48 minutes and 45 seconds, with Worst trailing by 17 seconds and Riberolle by 40 seconds. The list of top finishers also included notable performances by Aniek van Alphen and Inge van der Heijden, who rounded out the top five.

2023 Superprestige Ruddervoorde Women result

Results powered by FirstCycling.com