ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

Michael Vanthourenhout retains European Cyclocross Championship with solo attack

In an enthralling European Cyclocross Championship, Belgian rider Michael Vanthourenhout of Pauwels Sauzen-Bingoal (although racing for Belgium today), successfully defended his title with a remarkable solo victory amidst the quagmire of the French course in Pontchâteau. The 29-year-old champion launched an early attack in the second lap that went unmatched throughout the race, while his compatriot Thibau Nys bowed out of contention on a day that proved not to be his.

As the race commenced, Vanthourenhout, who held both the Belgian and European titles, seized his opportunity with both hands. He expressed after his victory that despite a season that hadn’t gone as hoped, he had felt a resurgence of form since the Koppenberg, a feeling he turned into a palpable triumph on the day that mattered most.

Laurens Sweeck initially sparked the challenge for the Belgians, but after a swift start, he quickly faded, leaving room for Vanthourenhout to assert his dominance. Sven Vanthourenhout, the national coach, admitted to being in awe of Vanthourenhout’s first half of the race, despite harbouring some doubts about his ability to sustain the lead.

As the race unfolded, the Dutch contingent found themselves on the back foot. Joris Nieuwenhuis suffered a puncture, while the British underdog Cameron Mason and the Dutchman Lars van der Haar, initially pegged back by mishaps, eventually emerged as Vanthourenhout’s closest pursuers.

Vanthourenhout’s Belgian peers, including Eli Iserbyt and Pim Ronhaar, effectively marshalled the competition, derailing any well-structured chase from the Dutch riders. The Belgian rider’s lead seemed insurmountable as the laps wore on, and the course conditions deteriorated under relentless rainfall.

Cameron Mason, the surprise British contender, admirably narrowed the gap to Vanthourenhout at one stage, showcasing his proficiency in the challenging conditions. However, a series of errors, including a pivotal slip by Van der Haar in the fifth lap, allowed Vanthourenhout to extend his lead further.

Michael Vanthourent crossing the finish line
Photo credit:

Maintaining consistent lap times despite the increasingly treacherous conditions, Vanthourenhout exhibited flawless technique to secure his consecutive European title. Behind him, Mason clinched a commendable silver, while Van der Haar overcame setbacks to secure the bronze in a sprint finish with Ronhaar.

Despite the stormy weather that threatened the event in Pontchâteau, the elite men’s race proceeded, culminating in a spectacular display of athleticism and strategy. The Belgians, with a strong block including Iserbyt, Nys, and Vanthourenhout, faced formidable opposition from the Netherlands, spearheaded by Van der Haar. Yet, it was Vanthourenhout who navigated the treacherous terrain to repeat his victory, reasserting his dominance in the European cyclocross scene.

2023 Cyclocross European Championship Elite Men result

Results powered by

Main photo credit: