A brief history of the road cycling world championships

Annemiek van Vleuten World Championships Yorkshire 2019 (3)

The Road Cycling World Championships is one of the most prestigious events in the sport of cycling. It is an annual competition that brings together the best male and female cyclists from around the world to compete for the coveted rainbow jerseys. The championships have a rich history, dating back almost a century, and have witnessed some of the most memorable moments in cycling.

The Origins of the World Championships

The Road Cycling World Championships originated in 1927 when the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), the governing body of cycling, organised the first-ever event at the Nürburgring in Germany. The first edition was won by the great Alfredo Binda from Milan San Remo multiple winner Costante Girardengo. The early editions were dominated by Italy, Belgium and Italy and it wasn’t until 1946 that another nation tasted victory for the first time.

The championships were suspended during the World War II years but were resumed in 1946 in Zurich, with a home win by Hans Knecht of Switzerland. The first women’s race was in 1958 and won by Elsy Jacobs of Luxembourg. 5 years before Tom Simpson’s World Championships victory in 1965, Beryl Burton won the women’s World Championships in 1960. So whilst Simpson is often quoted as the first British world champion, really Beryl Burton holds that honour on the road.

The Evolution of the Championships

Over the years, the Road Cycling World Championships have evolved to include a variety of events, including the individual time trial, the team time trial, and the individual pursuit. The team time trial was introduced in 1962, and the individual time trial was added to the program in 1994.

In 1995, the UCI introduced a new format for the Road Cycling World Championships, with separate events for road races and time trials. This format has remained in place ever since, with both men’s and women’s events being contested in each discipline.

Historic Moments in the World Championships

The Road Cycling World Championships have witnessed many historic moments over the years. One of the most memorable moments came in 1974 when Eddy Merckx of Belgium won his third and final world championship in the road race. Merckx is widely regarded as one of the greatest cyclists of all time, and his dominance in the road race event is a testament to his skill and endurance.

Another memorable moment in the Road Cycling World Championships came in 1983 when the American rider, Greg LeMond, won the men’s road race in a thrilling solo attack to the finish. The gap was 1’11” back to a group containing Adri van der Poel and Stephen Roche. LeMond became the first non-European to win the world championship, and his victory marked a significant milestone in the globalisation of cycling.

In 1989, the women’s road race produced one of the most dramatic finishes in the history of the championships. The race was won by Jeannie Longo of France, who obliterated the field by over 4 minutes. Longo’s victory came after a long and illustrious career in which she won numerous world championships and Olympic medals. This victory was her 4th at the World Championships and tail-ended the first successful part of her long career.

In 2018, the men’s road race produced another dramatic finish, as Alejandro Valverde of Spain won his first world championship title at the age of 38. Valverde had been a perennial contender at the championships for many years but had never managed to win the coveted rainbow jersey. His victory was a testament to his persistence and determination.

The women’s road race in 2019 also produced a historic moment, as Annemiek van Vleuten of the Netherlands won the race by a massive margin of over two minutes with a solo ride in Harrogate. Attacking early, none of the other nations were able to close up the gap to the lone Dutch rider who simply maintained her effort to the finish line with a comfortable 2 minutes gap.