AWOL O’Shea 2022 Roster

AWOL O’Shea joined the ranks of the UCI Continental level teams in 2021. Largely down to being at that level became the way to ensure entry into the only major race taking place in the UK during 2021 – the Women’s Tour. They were originally created in 2017 as British domestic U23 team Liv AWOL and have kept to their mission of bridging the gap between junior and elite racing. They’ve kept an Elite domestic team as a feeder for the main UCI Continental outfit, with a clear pathway to taking part in the bigger races.

The team’s short international calendar in 2021 saw them ranked 59th of 60 UCI Continental teams, only ahead of Australian team Roxsolt Liv SRAM. They were invited to a trio of French races; Kreiz Breizh Elites, La Picto-Charentaise and GP d’Isbergues and also the Trophée des Grimpeuses in Belgium. The team’s best result in those races was 27th at GP Isbergues by Frankie Morgans-Slader. AWOL O’Shea was also at the Watersley Challenge, a rare U23 women’s race that saw Connie Hayes finish 18th Overall, also her best stage result. Hayes then went on to impress at the Women’s WorldTour race, the Women’s Tour. She was involved in a solo break to bridge to a solo leader on Stage 5 and took intermediate sprint points. Alice Lethbridge was the team’s highest finisher in 52nd, largely thanks to her solid time trialling ability.

The team has signed Maddie Wadsworth (sister of Emily Wadsworth) for 2022, a return to a UK team after a year with Dutch outfit Watersley R&D Cycling Team and Danish Team Rytger before that. She was able to race a few more international races than AWOL O’Shea in 2021, including finishing 28th at the GP Beerens. Her progress was interrupted by the 2020 COVID season but she had a great 2019 season as a junior. The star signing of the off-season is multiple national TT champion Emily Meakin. She’s spent 2 years with Drops-Le Col and should be able to dovetail her time trialling ambitions with the international racing available at AWOL O’Shea.

AWOL O’Shea 2022 Roster

  • Alice Lethbridge
  • Frankie Morgans-Slader
  • Phoebe Martin
  • Connie Hayes
  • Autumn Collins
  • Liv Bent
  • Charlotte Broughton
  • Eva Callinan
  • Ella Coleman
  • Maddie Wadsworth
  • Maisy Vasic
  • Georgia Bullard
  • Kate Wooton
  • Emily Meakin

Subscribe to receive posts from