ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

Men’s British National Championships 2021 Photos

The men tackled the fearsome Michaelgate climb 13 times, an absolute leg-killer. On the first ascent, prospective FDJ rider Lewis Askey was the first to the top. But then Dan Bigham got into a breakaway with young talent Sam Watson. The pair stayed away for multiple laps before being swallowed by the peloton. A strong break got clear, with Harry Tanfield leading Ben Swift and Fred Wright. Behind them, a small group with Ethan Hayter were chasing. Tanfield attacked first but Swift and Wright were able to come past. The pair then launched a tough head to head sprint up Michaelgate with the win in the balance. On the final corner, Swift took the lead and with it, retained the national championship.