Tour Féminin des Pyrénées reveals a fresh start for 2024

Marta Cavalli 2023 Tour des Pyrenees Stage 2

The Tour Féminin International des Pyrénées is set for a transformative 2024 edition under new leadership, spanning 346 kilometres from 14th to 16th June. This year’s race will kick off in Goudon, Hautes-Pyrénées, and conclude in Bosdarros, Pyrénées-Atlantiques, featuring an intense mountain stage finish atop the renowned Col d’Aubisque.

2024 marks a pivotal year for the event as it embraces a new organisational structure. Elisabeth Chevanne, the newly elected president and director of the TFIP, has united a host of cycling professionals and garnered the support of the Departmental Cycling Committee of 64 to elevate the race’s stature on the international calendar. “It’s a fresh beginning for the Tour Féminin des Pyrénées. We are laying down a foundation that respects both the heritage of this event and its potential,” stated Chevanne.

The route for the upcoming edition is promising, with the first lap on 14th June covering 125 kilometres from Goudon to Lourdes. The subsequent lap on 15th June will be a gruelling 95 kilometres to the summit of Col d’Aubisque, challenging riders with its demanding elevation. The final lap, on 16th June, will see competitors race 126 kilometres from Nay to Bosdarros.

Cordon-Ragot Moolman-Pasio 2023 Tour des Pyrenees
Discussions during the 2023 race including Audrey Cordon-Ragot & Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

The race faced significant challenges in 2023 with stages being cancelled due to safety concerns, such as live traffic issues which disrupted the competition. Discontent with previous management also led to several standoffs, affecting the race’s integrity with the 2nd stage neutralised for most of its route and the 3rd stage cancelled. However, despite the disruptions, Marta Cavalli triumphed, winning the general classification in a remarkable finish on Hautacam which had been raced under neutral conditions up to the base of the climb.

Twenty teams are slated to participate, with 18 already confirmed, including prominent squads such as FDJ-Suez from the WorldTour and multiple Continental teams like Arkéa-B&B Hôtels and Cofidis. Additional clubs from abroad like BMC-Patobike (Mexico) and Matos Mobility-Flexaco (Portugal) will also be vying for top honours.

The race’s new visual identity and the ongoing development of the courses, along with discussions on private and public partnerships, highlight the proactive approach taken by the new organising committee to restore the race’s reputation and ensure its future success.

The race looks set to be covered live on Eurosport and France3.

Yonamine Doebel-Hickok Bauernfeind CIC Tour Feminine Pyrenees 2022
The 2022 edition was dominated by Krista Doebel-Hickok who won the GC and 2 stages

2024 Tour Féminin des Pyrénées Stages

14/06 – Stage 1 : Goudon – Lourdes (125 km)
15/06 – Stage 2 : Pierrefitte-Nestalas – Col d’Aubisque (95 km)
16/06 – Stage 3 : Nay – Bosdarros (126 km)

2024 Tour Féminin des Pyrénées Teams

Women’s WorldTour Teams


Continental Teams

Arkéa-B&B Hôtels
Komugi-Grand Est
BTC City Ljubljana-Zhiraf-Ambedo
Hess Cycling Team
Laboral Kutxa-Fundación Euskadi
Primeau Vélo-Groupe Abadie
Team Mendelspeck-Ge-man

Club Teams

Matos Mobility-Flexaco