Tour of Britain Women Stages Announced as Countdown to 2024 Grand Depart Begins

Preparations for the rebooted 2024 Tour of Britain Women are advancing, with today’s announcement of the stage hosts setting the stage for a thrilling competition. The Grand Départ is scheduled for Thursday, 6 June, from Welshpool. The previous organisers Sweetspot unfortunately were unable to continue their organisation and British Cycling had to take over the running of the Women’s Tour from 2024 for the foreseeable future.

Tour of Britain Women Stages Announced as Countdown to 2024 Grand Depart Begins

2024 Tour of Britain Route Women

The race kicks off in Welshpool, a town celebrated in cycling lore. Notably, it is close to where the men’s Tour of Britain featured a dramatic finish on the Great Orme in 2021, won by Wout Van Aert in a memorable sprint against Julian Alaphilippe, offering cyclists a scenic challenge beside the sea.

The first stage propels the riders from Welshpool to Llandudno, ensuring a demanding start. The second stage is a circuit in Wrexham, a town enveloped by the beautiful yet rugged terrain of the Clwydian Range and Dee Valley.

The peloton will then move to England for the third stage in Warrington, which promises flatter roads suitable for sprinters. This town previously hosted the men’s race in 2021, celebrating Ethan Hayter’s victory.

Concluding in Greater Manchester, the final stage will depart from the National Cycling Centre, traversing tough regional climbs before culminating in Leigh. This stage is a highlight of Manchester’s European Capital of Cycling celebrations.

WT22-6 Sprint win Wiebes
Lorena Wiebes

Stage Details for the Tour of Britain Women 2024

  • Stage 1 (Thursday, 6 June 2024): Welshpool to Llandudno
  • Stage 2 (Friday, 7 June 2024): Wrexham (circuit stage)
  • Stage 3 (Saturday, 8 June 2024): Warrington (start and finish)
  • Stage 4 (Sunday, 9 June 2024): Greater Manchester, starting from the National Cycling Centre and finishing in Leigh

Further details regarding the full routes, teams, and riders will be disclosed in the weeks ahead, adding to the anticipation of this major cycling event.