UK Women’s Cycling Teams 2020

Women's Tour 2019 Abby-Mae Parkinson Drops

There have been a number of changes to UK women’s cycling teams for the 2020 season. The amount of UCI Elite level teams has increased from 1 to 2 teams. The sponsor merry-go-round has seen a few teams changing names and riders naturally have been swapping teams too. Drops continue to be one of the best UK women’s cycling teams.

There is a 2020 UK men’s team version of this post here.

Women’s UCI Elite Teams 2020

Abby-Mae Parkinson is moving from one of the UK women's cycling teams to Lotto Soudal in 2020.
Abby-Mae Parkinson


Drops were the only British women’s UCI team in 2019 and gave opportunities to a lot of British riders. I’ve previously covered all of the ins and outs on my 2020 women’s cycling transfers page. Drops have made some interesting signings for 2020.

A couple of well-established riders have moved to new pastures. Abby-Mae Parkinson has joined Lotto Soudal (the same team as boyfriend Jon Dibben) and Elizabeth Holden has joined Bizkaia Durango. Kiwi Grace Anderson is moving to BePink too.

The incoming riders have a more international feel than before as a result of signing other UCI Team’s riders. Dutch rider Marjolein van ‘t Geloof will want to emulate Dutch former Drops rider Eva Buurman. The highest-ranked team Boels-Dolmans signed Buurman in 2019 after riding with Drops. Norwegians Elise Marie Olsen and Emilie Moberg bring a combination of youthful talent and experience to the team. German and Portuguese riders Finja Smekal and Maria Martins are also on the 2020 Drops roster.

Keeping to the team’s roots, Brits April Tacey and Elizabeth Bennett have been signed from the UK domestic scene. Drops have signed Emily Meakin too after a strong 2019 season. Meakin combined winning UK national time trials with racing in Belgium for Isorex.

Gabriella Shaw BrotherUK Tifosi Redditch 2019
Gabriella Shaw – Redditch Tour Series 2019


CAMS-Tifosi is a new UCI Elite team for 2020. They’re born out of the BrotherUK-Tifosi team that won the UK National Series in 2019. BrotherUK has switched their named sponsorship to the BrotherUK-Team OnForm development team in 2020.

The winner of the 2019 National Series and National Criterium Champion, Rebecca Durrell, will ride for CAMS-Tifosi in 2020. So are other current riders such as Gabriella Shaw, Jessica Finney, Charmaine Porter and Illi Gardner.

They signed Jo Tinley after she raced for NJC-Biemme-Echelon in 2018 (including 2nd at the Newport Nocturne). Tindley raced for VeloPerformance in 2019. Jennifer Rutter-Powell was on the same team as Tindley in 2018. Rutter-Powell then raced for Bianchi Dama in 2019. Young rider Katie Scott comes from Garden Shed UK-SCOTT-Verge Sport.

As a UCI team, CAMS-Tifosi will be hoping for guaranteed entries into top UK races like the Women’s Tour, Tour de Yorkshire and the Tour of Scotland. It isn’t clear yet how many races outside of the UK they will be able to take part in.

Women’s UK Domestic Teams 2020

Storey Racing

Key Riders: Sarah Storey, Monica Dew, Zoe Backstedt

BrotherUK-Team OnForm

Key Riders: Rebecca Richardson is the only confirmed rider so far

Luxembourger Elise Maes will be racing for Weston Homes-Torellie-Assure in 2020

Weston Homes-Torelli-Assure

Key Riders: Elise Maes, Lydia Boylan, Holly Breck

Team Boompods

Key Riders: Ellen McDermott, Hannah Larbalestier, Jenny Holden

Vision Innovative Leisure

Key Riders: Laura Pittard, Rebecca Kearney, Rebekah Nash

Jennifer Powell at the 2018 Newport Nocturne
Jennifer Powell at the 2018 Newport Nocturne for Bianchi Dama

Bianchi Dama

Key Riders: Emma Cockcroft, Georgie Panchaud, Bethany Taylor

Campinense-Velo Performance

Key Riders: Amy Gornall, Daniela Campos, Emma Edwards

GB Academy (Women) Team Inspired

Key Riders: Waiting for team announcement

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button