Liane Lippert retains German road race title

Liane Lippert has once again become the German road champion, just as she did last year. The Movistar cyclist managed to break away on her own from a small group during the final stage, and she successfully maintained her effort up until the finish line. Kathrin Hammes came second, followed by Romy Kasper in third place.

The German women’s championship took place on a hilly course in and around Bad Dürrheim. In the finale, a leading group of seven cyclists emerged. Lippert rode with Lin Teutenberg of Ceratizit WNT, Ricarda Bauernfeind and Antonia Niedermaier of Canyon SRAM, Kathrin Hammes of EF Education-TIBCO-SVB, Romy Kasper of AG Insurance-Soudal Quick-Step, and Clara Koppenburg of Cofidis. With about thirty kilometres to go, the defending champion left her companions behind on a climb.

It proved to be the race-defining moment as the 25-year-old cyclist quickly gained a lead of more than a minute on the chasing group and managed to keep her lead up to the finish line. It never looked under threat once established. In doing so, she claimed her third national road title. She also achieved this feat in 2018 and 2022, making her the country’s top cyclist once again. Behind Lippert, Kathrin Hammes secured 2nd with an attack and Romy Kasper won the sprint for the final medal spot.

2023 German National Road Race Championships result

Results powered by