Lorena Wiebes wins the final stage of Lotto Thuringen Tour


Lorena Wiebes sprinted to victory on the final stage of the Lotto Thuringen Ladies Tour to make it two stage wins at the race for her and the team. The win rounds out a successful week at the race where the team took fourth overall with Liane Lippert, who also spent time in the QOM jersey and took third on stage four.

The sixth and final stage always looked to be one for the sprinters and once the day’s break went clear, consisting of just three riders, the team set about keeping their advantage under control setting the pace on the front of the peloton.

The break was eventually caught with just under 10 kilometres to go of the 97.8 kilometre stage and from there all eyes were on a sprint finish. The team once again delivered Wiebes into a perfect position into the final kilometre from where she powered clear to take another convincing win on the line.

“Today we controlled again the race and we had a plan which worked out well,” Wiebes said after the finish. “Franziska helped control the break with the Belgian team and then we set up the lead-out. Floortje did the positioning in the downhill then Pfeiffer took the two right corners and Susanne went the next left corner. From there I could do my sprint exactly as I wanted. It was a really good lead-out and a good team effort.”

After the stage, Team DSM Women’s program coach Albert Timmer said: “The result says enough today. We showed again that as a team we’re on a really high level. We made sure that the break wasn’t too big and was controllable for us and started to ride as soon as we needed to.

“We made a nice plan in the morning for how we wanted to position ourselves ahead of the sprint and then the girls exactly followed this and did an amazing job. It’s a really nice victory for Lorena and the team today especially after yesterday’s result, ending a good week for the team here.”


Stage General classification Points classification Youth classification Mountains classification Teams classification

1WIEBES LorenaTeam DSM2:28:2825
2KOPECKY LotteBelgium,,20
3FAHLIN EmiliaFDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope0:0215