Tour de France Winners List

Many great champion riders are winners of the Tour de France in its 100+ year history. There are currently 4 riders with 5 Tour de France victories: Miguel Indurain, Bernard Hinault, Eddy Merckx and Jacques Anquetil. Chris Froome is still an active rider and on 4 victories, but it looks unlikely now that he will join the 5-Wins club. Honorary mentions go to Greg Lemond, Louison Bobet and Philippe Thys with 3 victories each.

France naturally has the highest amount of victories with 36. Although it’s of note that their last victory was in 1985 and the wait is very much ongoing. Belgium has 18 victories and Spain 12 wins. Belgium are another country with a long wait, their last victory was in 1976 courtesy of Lucien van Impe. Slovenia and Colombia are the newest countries to join the list after Tadej Pogačar’s victory in 2020 and Egan Bernal’s victory in 2019. All 6 of the UK’s victories have happened in the last 10 years.

YearTour #WinnerCountryTeam
2021108Tadej PogačarSlovenia UAE Team Emirates 
2020107Tadej PogačarSloveniaUAE Team Emirates
2019106Egan BernalColombiaTeam Ineos
2018105Geraint ThomasUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2017104Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2016103Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2015102Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
2014101Vincenzo NibaliItalyAstana Pro Team
2013100Chris FroomeUnited KingdomTeam Sky
201299Bradley WigginsUnited KingdomTeam Sky
201198Cadel EvansAustraliaBMC Racing Team
201097Andy Schleck *LuxembourgTeam Saxo Bank
200996Alberto ContadorSpainAstana
200895Carlos SastreSpainTeam CSC Saxo Bank
200794Alberto ContadorSpainDiscovery Channel
200693Óscar Pereiro *SpainCaisse d’Epargne
199885Marco PantaniItalyMercatone Uno
199784Jan UllrichGermanyTelekom
199683Bjarne RiisDenmarkTelekom
199582Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199481Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199380Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199279Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199178Miguel InduráinSpainBanesto
199077Greg LeMondUnited StatesZ
198976Greg LeMondUnited StatesADR
198875Pedro DelgadoSpainReynolds
198774Stephen RocheIrelandCarrera
198673Greg LeMondUnited StatesLa Vie Claire
198572Bernard HinaultFranceLa Vie Claire
198471Laurent FignonFranceRenault
198370Laurent FignonFranceRenault
198269Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
198168Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
198067Joop ZoetemelkNetherlandsTI Raleigh
197966Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
197865Bernard HinaultFranceRenault
197764Bernard ThévenetFrancePeugeot
197663Lucien Van ImpeBelgiumGitane
197562Bernard ThévenetFrancePeugeot
197461Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197360Luis OcañaSpainBic
197259Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197158Eddy MerckxBelgiumMolteni
197057Eddy MerckxBelgiumFaemino
196956Eddy MerckxBelgiumFaema
196855Jan JanssenNetherlandsHolland
196754Roger PingeonFranceFrance
196653Lucien AimarFranceFord
196552Felice GimondiItalySalvarini
196451Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196350Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196249Jacques AnquetilFranceSt-Raphael
196148Jacques AnquetilFranceFrance
196047Gastone NenciniItalyItaly
195946Federico BahamontesSpainSpain
195845Charly GaulLuxembourgHolland-Luxembourg
195744Jacques AnquetilFranceFrance
195643Roger WalkowiakFranceNord-Est-Centre
195542Louison BobetFranceFrance
195441Louison BobetFranceFrance
195340Louison BobetFranceFrance
195239Fausto CoppiItalyItaly
195138Hugo KobletSwitzerlandSwitzerland
195037Ferdinand KublerSwitzerlandSwitzerland
194936Fausto CoppiItalyItaly
194835Gino BartaliItalyItaly
194734Jean RobicFranceOuest
1940-46not held
193933Sylvère MaesBelgiumBelgium
193832Gino BartaliItalyItaly
193731Roger LapébieFranceFrance
193630Sylvère MaesBelgiumBelgium
193529Romain MaesBelgiumBelgium
193428Antonin MagneFranceFrance
193327Georges SpeicherFranceFrance
193226André LeducqFranceFrance
193125Antonin MagneFranceFrance
193024André LeducqFranceFrance
192923Maurice De WaeleBelgiumAlcyon
192822Nicolas FrantzLuxembourgAlcyon
192721Nicolas FrantzLuxembourgAlcyon
192620Lucien BuysseBelgiumAutomoto
192519Ottavio BottecchiaItalyAutomoto
192418Ottavio BottecchiaItalyAutomoto
192317Henri PélissierFranceAutomoto
192216Firmin LambotBelgiumCycles Peugeot
192115Léon ScieurBelgiumLa Sportive
192014Philippe ThysBelgiumLa Sportive
191913Firmin LambotBelgiumLa Sportive
1915-18not held
191412Philippe ThysBelgiumCycles Peugeot
191311Philippe ThysBelgiumCycles Peugeot
191210Odile DefrayeBelgiumAlycon
19119Gustave GarrigouFranceAlycon
19108Octave LapizeFranceAlycon
19097François FaberLuxembourgAlycon
19086Lucien Petit-BretonFranceCycles Peugeot
19075Lucien Petit-BretonFranceCycles Peugeot
19064René PottierFranceCycles Peugeot
19053Louis TrousselierFranceCycles Peugeot
19042Henri Cornet *FranceCycles JC
19031Maurice GarinFranceLa Française


Asterisks are there to note that another rider originally was declared the winner of that year’s Tour de France.

Maurice Garin was disqualified after catching a train to complete some of the race. Henri Cornet was declared winner instead.

The infamous Lance Armstrong had his titles stripped in 2012 due to doping. Due to the climate at the time, where doping was rife, the Tour de France chose not to replace Armstrong with another victor.

Floyd Landis initially finished first but after the race was completed it was found that Landis had tested positive in a sample given near the end of the race. He was stripped of the victory and 2nd placed Oscar Pereiro won instead.

Alberto Contador won the 2010 Tour de France but was stripped of the title after testing positive for minute traces of clenbuterol. Despite length legal battles, Contador was removed as winner in 2012.

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button