ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

2024 Vuelta Femenina Route Revealed

LAGOS DE COVADONGA, SPAIN - MAY 07: Race winner Annemiek Van Vleuten of The Netherlands and Movistar Team - Red Leader Jersey reacts after the 9th La Vuelta Femenina 2023, Stage 7 a 93.7km stage from Pola de Siero to Lagos de Covadonga 1079m / #UCIWWT / on May 07, 2023 in Lagos de Covadonga, Spain. (Photo by Dario Belingheri/Getty Images)

The 2024 Vuelta Femenina finally revealed its route for this year’s event. Due to take place between 28th April and 5th May 2024, the race has gained a stage as it reaches its longest duration yet. Starting from 1 stage in Madrid in 2015, it has gradually grown since 2018 when it added a time trial to help shake up the GC for the Madrid sprint. 2020 saw a third stage added before the race finally left its Madrid roots in 2021 with a 4 stage edition in north-west Spain. The growth has been steady since with 5 stages in 2022 and 7 stages in 2023. The 2024 Vuelta Femenina will increase to 8 stages.

Referred to as a Women’s Grand Tour because of the inheritance from the men’s race, the race has always felt the weakest of the 3 races in France, Italy and Spain to that claim due to its shorter length and history of longer racing. Now in 2024, all 3 races will have 8 stages and the GT claim starts to be a little bit closer to the truth. In truth, whilst those races have high profiles their length isn’t that much different to the likes of the Tour de l’Ardeche and previously the Women’s Tour.

The 2023 race saw a win for Annemiek van Vleuten, picking the right moment to attack in an exposed section of road that saw her ride with Gaia Realini to a big gain in the general classification. She held on after the final climb to the summit of Lagos de Covadonga to win the race by just 9 seconds over Demi Vollering.

Regarding the 2024 edition, the likes of Elisa Longo Borghini, Gaia Realini, Lizzie Deignan, Sarah Gigante and Thalita de Jong are some of the names confirmed to have the race on their schedule for this season already.

2024 Vuelta Femenina Teams

13 Women’s WorldTour teams will be racing this year, with Ceratizit and Uno-X choosing not to take part. Tashkent and Cofidis aren’t taking up their guaranteed invites, so that leaves 8 wildcard teams.

BePink, EF Education-Cannondale, Eneicat-CM, Laboral Kutxa, Lotto-Dstny, Team Coop-Repsol, VolkerWessels, Winspace

2024 Vuelta Femenina Route

Stage 1 (TTT)

Valencia – Valencia (16km)

Stage 2

Bunol – Moncofa (118.8km)

Stage 3

Lucena – Teruel (130.8km)

Stage 4

Molina de Aragon – Zaragoza (139.6km)

Stage 5

Huesca – Jaca (113.9km)

Stage 6

Tarazona – La Laguna Negra Vinuesca (132km)

Stage 7

San Esteban de Gormaz – Siguenza (126km)

Stage 8

Distrito Telefonica Madrid – Valdesqui Comunidad de Madrid (89km)