ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

Annemiek van Vleuten to Wear Honorary Number at Mallorca 312 OK Mobility

WC23 - Annemiek van Vleuten

Annemiek van Vleuten, one of the greatest female cyclists in history, is set to be honoured with the prestigious honorary number at this year’s Mallorca 312 OK Mobility. The event, scheduled for Saturday, 27th April, has chosen the recently retired Dutch icon to join an elite list of cyclists who have previously been awarded this distinction at one of the world’s most esteemed cycling sportives.

Van Vleuten, whose illustrious 15-season professional career is studded with over 100 victories, will be the second woman after local rider and multiple Spanish national champion Mavi García to receive the honorary number at the Mallorca 312 OK Mobility. Her remarkable achievements include four Giro Donne wins, a Tour de France Femmes victory, three Vuelta successes, two Olympic medals, and four World Championships – two in road racing and two in time trials. These feats have placed Van Vleuten in the rarefied company of cycling legends such as Jacques Anquetil, Felice Gimondi, Eddy Merckx, and Bernard Hinault, as she became one of the few cyclists to clinch the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France, Vuelta a España, and the World Championship.

The announcement was made by the organisers of the Mallorca 312 OK Mobility, as they look to acknowledge the Dutchwoman’s inspirational role in elite cycling. Alongside Van Vleuten, the event will also see the participation of notable former cyclists like Alberto Contador, Vincenzo Nibali, Sean Kelly, Joseba Beloki, and Pedro Horrillo, further solidifying the Mallorca 312 OK Mobility’s status as a premier event in the cycling sportive calendar.

Further details on the event are available on the Mallorca 312 website, promising a spectacle where cycling enthusiasts can witness some of the sport’s greats in action.