Annemiek van Vleuten wins Dutch Cyclist of the Year

Annemiek van Vleuten

Annemiek van Vleuten has retained her Dutch Cyclist of the Year award for the 2nd year running and her 4th victory since 2017. The award is named after Dutch rider Keetie van Oosten-Hage, the road World Champion in both 1968 and 1976. All in all, she finished on the podium 8 times at the world championships. The other nominees were Lorena Wiebes, Ellen van Dijk, Marianne Vos, Laura Smulders and Anne Terpstra. The votes were cast by members of organiser Club 48, the Dutch Trade Union of Professional Cyclists (VVBW) and the audience of WielerFlits.

“It is a great honour that I am once again the female cyclist of the year. I always find it a bit of a difficult election, when you look at the nominees. That is comparing apples with pears, but I am proud that it was not such a difficult choice this year. It really was a great year.”

Annemiek van Vleuten

The Dutch star won the Giro Donne, Tour de France Femmes, the Ceratizit Challenge by La Vuelta and the World Championships. She also took victories at classics like Omloop het Nieuswblad and Liege-Bastogne-Liege.

Keetie van Oosten-Hage Trophy Winners

Subscribe to receive posts from