Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Announces 2024 Wildcard Teams for Men’s and Women’s Races


The organisers of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad have distributed their wildcards for the upcoming edition, with Belgian and Swiss ProTeams among those celebrating. Notably, Tour de Tietema-Unibet was not among the recipients.

In addition to the eighteen men’s WorldTeams that automatically qualify, Lotto Dstny, Israel-Premier Tech, and Uno-X Mobility were already guaranteed entry due to their top three ProTeam ranking in 2023 on the UCI list. This left four wildcards for the organisers to allocate at their discretion. These were awarded to Bingoal WB and Flanders Baloise, the Belgian ProTeams, along with Tudor Pro Cycling and Q36.5, the Swiss ProTeams.

For the women’s race, the number of wildcard recipients was significantly higher, including Arkéa-B&B Hotels, Bepink-Bongiovanni, EF Education-Cannondale, Hess Cycling Team, Lotto Dstny, Proximus-Cyclis, Team Coop-Repsol, Komugi-Grand Est, and VolkerWessels. Of the 15 Women’s WorldTour teams, there will be 2 absent – Roland & Ceratizit WNT.

Last year’s 2023 Omloop het Nieuwsblad saw Dylan van Baarle and Lotte Kopecky emerge victorious. This year’s race is scheduled for February 24th, marking the start of the Flemish WorldTour classics season, winding through the Flemish Ardennes before concluding in Ninove. This year’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad promises an exciting lineup of teams and riders, ready to take on the challenge of the Flemish Ardennes.

Men’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2024 Teams

WorldTour Teams:

Professional Teams:

Elite Women’s Teams

UCI Women’s WorldTeams:

UCI Women’s Continental Teams:

Image credits: Getty Images

Related Posts

Subscribe to receive posts from