NXTG Racing Squad for 2022

NXTG Racing 2022 Jersey

NXTG Racing (pronounced Next-Gen) are one of the few Women’s U23 development teams in the peloton. Created as Rogelli-Gyproc in 2019 this off-season has seen its first pair of riders move onwards and upwards to Women’s WorldTour teams. Racing with a Dutch licence, the team has given international riders a chance to race. Riders from as far away from each other as Chile, New Zealand and Sweden have all raced in the NXTG Racing colours. An Italian will join the team for the first time in 2022 – Gaia Masetti.

Top Team Results in 2021

The team scored its first top-10 result at the Healthy Ageing Tour. That was where Charlotte Kool negotiated the fall-out from Lorena Wiebes’ crash on Stage 1 to finish 5th. That made fans take notice of Kool and she became a regular in my race previews afterwards. Her next best result was 10th at Scheldeprijs before taking her first win at the Baloise Ladies Tour. Kool’s best WWT result was 5th place at the Simac Ladies Tour before the major crash in that race saw her pull out. A strong end to the season saw another win at GP d’Isbergues and a pair of 2nd places in GP de Plumelec-Morbihan and Drentse Acht van Westerveld.

Behind Kool, Shari Bossuyt got great results in the second half of the year. 4th in the Belgian Nat Champs and impressive 7th in GC at the Lotto Belgium Tour. Bossuyt became U23 Belgian TT champion before a 2nd in GC at the U23 Watersley Womens Challenge race. Chilean Catalina Soto Campos had a pair of top-10s at the Setmana Ciclista Valenciana. And finally, Julia Borgström and Amelia Sharpe were just outside the top-10 at several races.

Charlotte Kool wins GP d’Isbergues
Photo Credit: Bastien Gasson

2022 Roster

  • Fien Masure
  • Maureen Arens
  • Yuli van der Molen
  • Senne Knaven
  • Ilse Pluimers
  • Maud Rijnbeek
  • Ally Wollaston
  • Eline van Rooijen
  • Julia Borgstrøm
  • Gaia Masetti
  • Amelia Sharpe
  • Cassia Boglio
  • Britt Knaven
  • Amber Aernouts
  • Mylène de Zoete
  • Lone Meertens

2021 Riders Leaving NXTG Racing

Two of NXTG’s stars from 2021 have been snapped up by Women’s WorldTour teams. Belgian talent Shari Bossuyt will race for Canyon SRAM and Charlotte Kool will be at Team DSM. Between them, these two riders took all 4 of NXTG Racing’s wins in 2021 so other riders will need to step up into their roles. Catalina Soto Campos is also moving to another team, she will race for Bizkaia-Durango in 2022. She got her best results of 2021 at the Setmana Ciclista Valenciana, so hopefully, a Spanish race calendar will help her produce more results.

British rider Emily Wadsworth has confirmed she has retired from racing. Rozemarijn Ammerlaan is also stepping away from racing, for the time being, she cited anxiety issues this year as a reason. Cathalijne Hoolwerf’s 2022 destination is unclear currently. Hopefully, the former Dutch national junior champion (2018) is able to find a new team.

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button