ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

Trofeo Oro in Euro 2024: Strong Peloton Set to Clash in This Year’s Race


29 teams are set to compete for the 15th Trofeo Oro in Euro on March 3rd 2024. Among them are the best in the world rankings, selected from 23 foreign teams and 7 Italian Continental teams, featuring elite cyclists such as the US National team preparing for the upcoming Olympic Games in Paris. The defending champion in Gaia Realini from the formidable Lidl-Trek team, will also include promising talents like Van Arooij and Italian champion Elisa Longo Borghini, who won in 2012.

Leading the charge for Team UAE ADQ will be the top-ranked Italian cyclist and eighth in the UCI rankings, Silvia Persico. Returning from France, Cofidis will bring Martina Alzini, who finished third in 2023, while the new Women’s WorldTour German team, Ceratizit WNT, will feature Marta Luch and Alice Arzuffi. New additions include the Norwegian Uno-X Mobility team, Uzbek team Tashkent City, Czech team Dukla Praha, German WWT team Canyon SRAM, new American team EF Education, and the Canadian team Primeau Velo-Groupe Abadie, adding depth to the race.

Italy has long been a cradle of cycling talent, boasting Trofeo Oro in Euro winners like Bastianelli, Longo Borghini, Bertizzolo, Barbieri, and Fidanza. This legacy has driven efforts to enhance hospitality and attract teams from Belgium, the Netherlands, France, and Germany.

The race is expected to feature a tactical showdown between the climbing prowess of Lidl-Trek and the speed of the American Human Powered Health team, led by Ragusa, Malcotti, and Zanardi. However, the performance of Silvia Persico, supported by the strong UAE Emirates team with the rapid Polish rider Wlodarczyck, could certainly shake up the competition.