ProCyclingUK 2024 Logo Alternate

Third for Mitchelton-SCOTT in opening stage TTT at the Giro Rosa

Defending champions Mitchelton-SCOTT claimed third in the opening stage team time trial with a solid ride at the Giro Rosa.

The Australian squad set the fastest time as they crossed the finish line, with three teams left to finish, but in the end it was Trek-Segafredo who took the victory with a time of 20:05:99.

Rapid Start
Mitchelton-SCOTT headed down the start ramp in Grosseto with a time of 20:15:08 to beat, and it was a rapid start to the 16km effort as the squad negotiated the city streets before hitting the back roads and getting into their stride.

Dutch domestique Moniek Tenniglo was the first rider to swing off after doing her final effort before Australian Lucy Kennedy gave one last pull on the front, leaving Annemiek van Vleuten, Amanda Spratt, Grace Brown and Sarah Roy to race across the line. 

A time of 20:10:45 was enough to take the top spot, but with three teams still to cross the line it was a wait to see if anyone could topple the time. Trek-Segafredo were the first team to better the time, before Boels-Dolmans narrowly edged into second, meaning it was third on the day for Mitchelton-SCOTT.

Amanda Spratt:
“We’re really happy and proud with that result. We didn’t put a lot of emphasis on the team time trial, we thought we’d have a solid performance, but we were withing 10 seconds of the win.

“So, I think we’re all super, super proud, every single person contributed to this result, which makes me really proud and it shows that everyone on the team is in great shape. It’s a super start to the week ahead.”

Alejandro Gonzalez-Tablas (Sports Director):
“We have done way more than what we were aiming for and we can be pretty happy with that result. We wanted to be there in the mix, we were maybe expecting to be 20 seconds down at the finish.

“But to come home only five seconds behind the winner, we can be very proud of that ride and it shows we are in a good place for the stages coming up.”

Giro Rosa Stage 1 (TTT) – Results

1. Trek-Segafredo 20:05:99
2. Boels-Dolmans 20:08:75
3. Mitchelton-SCOTT 20:10:45

Photos courtesy of Getty Images.


Related articles

Share article

Latest articles