Teams announced for 2024 Vuelta a Andalucía Ruta del Sol

Arlenis Sierra. 2022 Vuelta a Andalucía Elite Women. Stage 2: Málaga - Mijas. 4.5.2022.

The III Vuelta Ciclista a Andalucía Elite Women kicked off today, marking the start of a highly anticipated race. This year, the event boasts participation from 20 teams representing 12 different nationalities and cyclists from 32 countries, underscoring its growing international appeal. The race, which runs from May 29 to June 1, features a diverse peloton including some of the biggest names in women’s cycling.

Movistar’s Strong Line-Up

Among the favourites, the Movistar team stands out with a star-studded roster. Cuban Arlenis Sierra, the winner of the first edition, leads the team. Sierra, who is keen to reclaim her title, is supported by Spanish riders Sheyla Gutiérrez and Sara Martín. Gutiérrez, aged 30, has a strong track record and Martín, aged 25, is noted for her stage win in Mijas last year. Serbian champion Jelena Eric and Colombian national champion Paula Andrea Patiño add further strength to the team. Dutch rider Floortje Mackaij will be making her debut in the race too.

Jayco AlUla Jayco’s Veteran Leadership

The Australian team Jayco AlUla Jayco enters the race with high hopes, led by Spanish veteran Mavi García. García, aged 40, brings a wealth of experience and a history of strong performances, including a second-place finish overall last year and a victory in the mountain classification. She is joined by promising talents such as Dutch riders Quinty Ton and Silke Smulders, Australian Alexandra Manly, Slovenian Urska Zigart, and New Zealand’s national road champion Ella Wyllie. Except for García, all are making their debut in Andalusia.


Human Powered Health and their Rising Stars

The American team Human Powered Health features a dynamic line-up headed by Ukrainian Julia Bilukova. Bilukova, aged 26, placed sixth overall in 2023 and has shown impressive form this season with a second-place finish in the Almería Classic. Italian rider Barbara Malcotti, who finished tenth overall last year, returns with aspirations for a top finish. New Zealand’s Henrietta Christie and Swiss rider Linda Zanetti also return, eager to improve on their previous performances. Dutch debutant Marit Raaijmakers and experienced North American rider Krista Doebel-Hickok complete the squad.

The Return of Uno-X

The Scandinavian Uno-X team also looks formidable with Norwegian Katrine Aalerud, last year’s winner, ready to defend her title. Mie Bjorndal Ottestad, who finished second overall last year, and Dutch rider Anouska Koster bring additional strength to the team. British rider Joscelin Lowden and Canadian Simone Boilard are also part of the line-up, promising an exciting race for the Scandinavian outfit.

Other Notable Teams and Riders

Other teams vying for success include the Spanish Laboural Kutxa Fundación Euskadi, led by Yurani Blanco Calbet and Lourdes Oyarbide, both of whom have shown strong form recently. Eneicat, with Isabel Martín, and Massi Baix, led by Mireia Trias, are also expected to make significant contributions. The Spanish National Team and other international teams such as Swiss Roland, BMC Patobike from Mexico, and Canyon SRAM from Germany round out a highly competitive field.

The diverse and talented field promises an exciting edition of the Vuelta a Andalucía, with each team bringing a mix of seasoned veterans and promising newcomers. The race continues to grow in stature, attracting top talent from around the world and providing a thrilling spectacle for cycling fans.

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button