A quick preview look at Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta del Sol 2023

Arlenis-Sierra-et2-Andalucia Ruta del Sol

Kicking off in 2022, the Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta del Sol saw Arlenis Sierra take the inaugural victory in what was a fun trio of stages. Mavi Garcia and Ricarda Bauernfeind rounded out the podium but they weren’t able to defeat Sierra, who took 2 stages and finished 2nd behind teammate Jelena Eric on the final stage as well. Movistar return in 2023, but without Sierra and Eric as they look to retain their victory from last year.

The race retains its 2.1 status from last season but has grown from 3 stages to 5 stages. There’s plenty in there for the sort of sprinter who can climb, with Stage 2 the only real summit finish on a medium climb, although Stage 3 also has a short punchy finish. Expect the bunch to get thinned out but there should be a good number of reduced bunch sprints over the 5 days. The race also marks the end of the women’s Spanish UCI calendar for 2023. After May saw lots of races crammed in, there are no more Spanish races left this season at UCI level in what is a quirk of the race calendar now that the Vuelta Femenina has moved to May as well.

Which teams are racing at Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta del Sol 2023?

Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Del Sol 2023 Team

What does the Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta del Sol 2023 route look like?

Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta del Sol Race Profiles

Where can I watch Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta del Sol 2023?

Race will be shown live each day on the race’s youtube channel and Andalucia TV – keep an eye on twitter for confirmation of the links.

Twitter updates will be via the #VCAWomen or #VCAEliteWomen or #VCAW hashtags and a race centre live ticker here

Who are the main riders to watch?

  • Mareille Meijering
  • Katrine Aalerud
  • Sara Martin
  • Yurani Blanco Calbert
  • Debora Silvestri
  • Idoia Eraso Lasa
  • Tota Magalhaes
  • Catalina Soto Campos
  • Andrea Ramirez
  • Sigrid Ytterhus Haugset
  • Mie Bjørndal Ottestad
  • Marte Berg Edseth
  • Tamara Dronova
  • Lizzie Stannard
  • Maggie Coles-Lyster
  • Henriette Christie
  • Linda Zanetti
  • Yulia Biriukova
  • Ricarda Bauernfeind
  • Michaela Drummond
  • Lotte Claes
  • Leonie Laubig
  • Federica Piergiovanni

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button