A quick preview look at Dwars Door de Westhoek 2024


Dwars Door de Westhoek is a reasonably flat race that should by all accounts be a sprint each year. But in 2023, Team DSM-Firmenich were able to buck that trend by getting 3 riders to go clear and stay away until the end. Pfeiffer Georgi crossed the line first with Lea Curinier and Charlotte Kool joining her with arms aloft. They were over a minute ahead of their rivals, absolutely dominating the race.

Previously, it’s been ridden much more to type. For example, Chiara Consonni comfortably outsprinting Sofie van Rooijen (below image) in 2022 from what was a large group of more than 50 riders. 2021 saw big names sprinting here with Lorena Wiebes outpacing Jolien d’Hoore and future teammate Barbara Guarischi to the line. Wiebes getting revenge for 2018 & 2019 when Elisa Balsamo out-sprinted her and Lotte Kopecky for the victory in the latter and the surprising one of Thi That Nguyen winning in 2018. One of the few different riders to have ever outsprinted Wiebes in a head-to-head for the win.

The Dwars Door de Westhoek has been around for 15 years, only interrupted by the 2020 Covid season and is a solid 1.1 in the Belgian calendar. Despite running for all that time, there has never been a repeat winner. A run that will continue with no previous winners on the startlist in 2024.

Chiara Consonni wins the 2022 edition of Dwars Door de Westhoek
(Photo Credit: Cor Vos)

Which teams are racing at Dwars Door de Westhoek 2024?

  • UAE Team ADQ
  • Lidl-Trek
  • Fenix-Deceuninck
  • Human Powered Health
  • Ceratizit WNT
  • EF Education-Cannondale
  • AG Insurance Soudal
  • Liv-AlUla-Jayco Women’s Continental Team
  • Lotto Dstny Ladies
  • Proximus-Cyclis CT
  • Chevalmeire
  • Torelli
  • GT Krush
  • VolkerWessels
  • Team Bridgelane
  • MAXX Solar Rose
  • Baloise-WB Ladies
  • KDM Pack
  • Keukens Redant
  • De Ceuster-Bonache
  • Grouwels-Watersley R&D
  • Belco/Van Eyck
  • WV Schijndel
  • Carbonbike Giordana by Gen Z
  • DD Group-Multum Accountants

What does the Dwars Door de Westhoek route profile look like?

Where can I watch the Dwars Door de Westhoek 2024 race?

Live coverage on Pickx

Times in BST

Who are the main riders to watch?

  • Ally Wollaston
  • Daria Pikulik
  • Lucinda Brand
  • Ilaria Sanguineti
  • Lily Williams
  • Kathrin Schweinberger
  • Mylene de Zoete
  • Sofie van Rooijen
  • Scarlett Souren
  • Maud Rijnbeek
  • Gaia Masetti
  • Lara Gillespie
  • Tereza Neumanova
  • Lotta Henttala
  • Letizia Borghesi
  • Sanne Cant
  • Fien Van Eynde
  • Cecilia van Zuthem
  • Evy Kuijpers
  • Jesse Vandenbulcke
  • Noa Jansen
  • Emma Jeffers
  • Fauve Bastiaenssen
  • Katrijn de Clercq
  • Anna van Wersch


Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button