A quick preview look at Trofeo Oro in Euro 2024


The Trofeo Oro in Euro is a long-running race on the coast of the Ligurian Sea in the Med. Results go back to at least 2008 but it’s only in recent years that it’s been bumped up to UCI level. 2022 was the first one at the highest level and since then it has been won by Sofia Bertizzolo and Gaia Realini. Both are home winners and give the race a great dose of credibility. Bertizzolo had won already in 2016, and other winners include Marta Bastianelli, Rachele Barbieri, Arianna Fidanza and Elisa Longo Borghini.

The race pans out as 5 relatively calm flat laps before taking a turn. From there the race sees 2 ascents of the Fortezza climb which should shake up the race. It certainly did last year with Gaia Realini going clear with teammate Amanda Spratt. Spratt gifted the win to Realini as they crossed the line with arms in the air holding hands. It was a payback from the team for Realini having to give up the UAE Tour Women win a few weeks beforehand.

There’s enough there for a hilly type of sprinter to get over the Fortezza or maybe catch back up after the climb to contest the win as well. Or simply go on the first climb like they did successfully last season.

Which teams are racing at Trofeo Oro in Euro 2024?

  • ASK K2 Women Team
  • AR Monex
  • Aromitalia 3T Vaiano
  • BePink-Bongioanni
  • BTC CIty Ljubljana Zhiraf Ambedo
  • Canyon SRAM Generation
  • Ceratizit-WNT
  • Cofidis
  • DD Group-Multum Accountants
  • EF Education-Cannondale
  • Embrace the World Cycling
  • Grouwels-Watersley R&D Road Team
  • Human Powered Health
  • Isolmant-Premac-Vittoria
  • KDM-Pack Cycling
  • Laboral Kutxa-Fundacion Euskadi
  • Lidl-Trek
  • MAXX-Solar Rose
  • Primeau Vélo-Groupe Abadie
  • Tashkent City
  • Team Dukla Praha
  • Team Komugi-Grand Est
  • Team Mendelspeck GE-Man
  • TKK Pacific Nestlé Fitness
  • Top Girls Fassa Bortolo
  • UAE Team ADQ
  • Uno-X Mobility
  • USA
  • VolkerWessels
  • WV Schijndel

What does the Trofeo Oro in Euro 2024 route look like?

Where can I watch Trofeo Oro in Euro 2024?

Live on the Toscana Sprint Youtube page – race starts at 12:30pm GMT but the coverage starts at 1:45pm GMT

Twitter updates will be via the #TrofeoOroinEuro hashtags.

Who are the main riders to watch?

  • Gaia Realini
  • Elisa Longo Borghini
  • Amanda Spratt
  • Shirin van Anrooij
  • Lizzie Deignan
  • Nadia Quagliotto
  • Laura Tomasi
  • Ane Santeseban
  • Karlijn Swinkels
  • Simone Boilard
  • Silvia Persico
  • Anouska Koster
  • Silvia Magri
  • Silvia Zanardi
  • Rasa Leleivyte
  • Alice Maria Arzuffi (currently on startlist but has a virus so probable DNS)
  • Marta Lach
  • Yulia Biriukova
  • Ruth Edwards
  • Veronica Ewers
  • Lizzie Stannard
  • Eline Jansen
  • Martina Alzini
  • Anneke Dijkstra
  • Morgane Coston
  • Laura Asencio
  • Cedrine Kerbaol
  • Julie Bego
  • Nikola Noskova
  • Monica Trinca Colonel
  • Giulia Giuliani
  • Lara Crestanello
  • Ursa Pintar
  • Michela De Grandis

Related Posts

Ko-fi ProCyclingUK button